Just Call me a Chicken…

Sooo… yeah there was this wedding thing that was crazy and awesome and fabulous and all… It was so eventful that it’s a terribly intimidating post. I’ve been intimidated. My own wedding was my bully. Blog wise.

The rehearsal was wonderful and fun. After the rehearsal our dear group of friends came over to our future abode. Friends that have been constant as the sunrise. They made all of my butterflies fly away… temporarily anyways. When Manda brought in her wedding present to us, the others asked if they could get/ bring in theirs. We said sure! So then we had an impromptu wedding shower, only without cake. (Unless you count the rehearsal dinner dessert of cheeeeeesecake! yum-Bernie) We visited until Genius looked down at his watch and wished us a happy wedding day. We all laughed. Then when everyone had left, Handsome and I exchanged our gifts to each other.

I opened this beautiful box and inside were two things, another package and a small scrapbook. It was a mini history of us. He Made it!  Handsome had used up his creative quota on the most beautiful book for me. I loooooove it! The last page was left blank for a picture of us on our wedding day. I was so happy and impressed with my dear future-Husband-face. The smaller package was a necklace from Jared’s. It’s very pretty and something to cherish.

I got him cuff links from the fabulous company, Celtic Promise. The cuff links matched his ring. I also gave him a blog I had started while we were only dating, but by then, I knew. Handsome was THE ONE. It’s a private one and all his. I knew he would like it, especially since it’s something he can access whenever he want.

It’s funny isn’t it, that both us gave the other two presents. One, a dialogue of beautiful memories; the other, something decorative and symbolic of our special day.

The wedding day? Insane amounts of fun.

We began the festivities with a Bridal Luncheon hosted by none other than the FAIRY GODMOTHER!!! She is the best anyone could ever ask for.  The bridal luncheon was at Chianti’s and it was FABULOUS. The flowers were gorgeous, the food was delicious, the wine was perfect. I settled my stage jitters with my out of town guests and family and dear friends.   Having this lunch was wonderful. I got a chance to see and visit with people who took the trouble of traveling hundreds of miles so see me get married. My wonderful FG made a beautiful toast that made everyone tear up joyfully.  My aunt and godmother is a wonderful woman y’all.

I attempted to eat the entree'(who on Earth can eat properly on their wedding day??), and almost left before they wheeled out the dessert cart… and then everyone laughed as I backed up the bus and plopped myself back into the chair… CHOCOLATE MOUSSE cake! Perfect for the nervous princess and the only thing that sustained me throughout the wedding. I got my hair done at the Renaissance Salon in Bossier City where the ladies there do a fantastic job and Tessa worked her magic on most of my ladies and my adorable fairy princess godchild.

We arrived at the Church and I was cooped into my bridal room until it was time. We got me dressed and received our flowers from our Flower Lady Cousin. We marveled at how adorable Miss Flower Princess was. The Baby provided relaxing and celebrational music.

After I was dressed, the girls were dressed, the guys had arrived, the Trolley was waiting, guests were all there, and everyone was lined up by the Wedding Gurus… we all realized one thing was missing- The Minister!!!!!

Well… everyone but me anyways. They had taken my stuff away, including my appendage known as my cellphone… and I was alone for twenty minutes before they informed me. I was surprisingly not freaking out. I was only worried about the dude. What could have happened? (Handsome was freaking out for both of us) My dad went out and made a short announcement that we were all here and merely waiting on the minister…

Guests enjoyed the music played by Shreveport Symphony members… who came and left… still no minister.

He finally came an hour late. By then I was really ready to walk down that aisle. Everything was set back- late by an hour.  .. but let’s focus on the awesome parts…

I married the love of my life!

Handsome was awesome. He made my gals swoon…

My girls looked AMAZING. I mean, look at them. All single. And on March 16th all legal. wink wink.

The cuteness squad ruled.

Daddy marveled at the beauty of his daughters,

The wedding party was great! Look at us! Ah-MAYZIIIING!

After our quickie photo shoot we jumped into the Trolley and got ourselves to the Petroleum Club, where we started the dancing.

Smug bride face.

Such a happy couple. side note- I’m wearing my Flower Princess’ charm bracelet- I have started for her. She’ll get it when she receives her First Holy Communion… but she can wear it to fancy things while I’m around- like to my wedding. She was falling asleep on the Trolley so we put it on me for safe keeping.

The cake was gorgeous! Alyson at A Piece of Cake was awesome!

The grooms cake was a chocolate xbox 360- It totally suited the groom. See the figurines? The soccer player groom and shopper bride toppers were too cute, but too informal for my cake, so I had them set on the groom’s table. Handsome likes them quite a bit. He saw them in a magazine, and loved the soccer player.

After cake, and during cake, and throughout the reception people danced to the rhythms of Windstorm Show Band of Shreveport. The Windstorm was AWWWEsome! Another bout of awesomeness brought to me by the amazing Fairy Godmother.

Another favorite of the guests was the photobooth-

My girls ham it up!

Mom and her teacher gang- Kindergarten and the principal.

She made this awesome scrapbook for the wedding and they had an attendant who helped our guests stick a copy of their strip onto a page for us, while they got the other.

Phelps Photo booth- they were an extra last minute add-on, but they were fabulous! Contact Roy at phelpsphotobooth@gmail.com. He’s reasonable and great to work with!

Fairy Godmother and I loved on the Handsome. Because he was just too… well… Handsome!

My beautiful cousin caught my bouquet, which accidentally was one of my bridesmaid bouquets… whoops! Sorry girls! I couldn’t find the toss bouquet! If I had tossed the actual one, someone would have gotten hurt for sure. That thing was HEAVY. But gorgeous. After that we took several pictures of Handsome and me.

I couldn’t stop kissing him. After being showered with bubbles, we jumped into my car(It’s the bigger of the two vehicles and I had to fit. I was huge in that dress!).

The next morning we were sleep deprived and drunk from exhaustion- not alcohol… but I’ll tell the Honey moon story some other time.

And it all couldn’t have happened without my Fairy Godmother. She’s amazing, folks. She has thoroughly spoiled me. I love her more than I can tell you and she is wonderful. I can only hope to be as elegant and generous as she is one day.

Thank you so much, dearest Lady,

Your Pretty Princess

Photos by Jena Leigh Photography

All of my vendors did not give me anything for endorsing them, but they were amazing. Thanks be to all of them.

Now… on to Christmas! Handsome and I are ready!

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Blowing the Tiara, Character Building, Handsome Prince, Shiny things, The Damsel again., The Wedding. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You are such a beautiful bride. The wedding looks amazing. Sorry to hear about the late minister, you should get MBG to tell you about why her wedding was late and how we all nearly broke our ankles in the dark as a consequence.

    But you’re right, what matters is that you’re hitched and happy.

    Congratulations! Here’s to many many years of wedded bliss!

  2. You know how when people have blue eyes and everyone’s like, “WOW, LOOK AT THOSE BLUE EYES,” as if they’re the only pretty ones out there?

    You, my dear, have amazing brown eyes. Did you know that? I know it makes me sound so lame, but it’s so true.

    Beautiful bride!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 612 other followers

