Ikea-Assembly-Day and then sadness…

This past weekend we had such a blast! We went to Dallas, specifically for Handsome’s birthday.  On his birthday his favorite Major League Soccer team, the Seattle Sounders, played FC Dallas at Pizza Hut Park.  Handsome shared with many of his work buddies his excitement at going to Dallas and one of them mentioned that we should go to Ikea since we were setting up our house. We totally loved the Ikea experience. Mostly because we both like the simple lines of the furniture that we picked. Being an artist, I love focal points to a room and I love art, but having too many focal points would distract me. So having simple furniture that subtly complements art greatly appeals to me. We enjoyed playing in the tiny idea rooms and bouncing on chairs. We laughed at each other’s pronunciation of our future furniture/accessories.

We ate the Choklad. Our favorite was this amazing cake. We have a mutual crush on Chocolate mousse cake.

We got a coffee table, a couple of awesome DVD towers, some lamps, shelves for the office, a cute shelving unit for the bathroom, some pretty lamps, and other accessories and paraphernalia.

The way Handsome and I shop is similar to the way they have things set up in the store. We flit about the showroom(AKA the cottage), make a list of the things we need/appeal to us, and then go about the business of shopping for what we want. If there is a clever item at my eye level, it will sneak its way into the buggy(just like at the grocery sto’).

We like to put things-together together, so this Ikea thing is meant for us. We already have found a couch/chaise Handsome would like to have (he doesn’t know where the thing will go, he just likes it).

Last night we started to assemble our stuff. We had so much fun. The directions are very easy. Seriously. Compared to the crazy desks, everything from Ikea is cake. Memo to people who can’t handle instructions: don’t buy furniture that requires assembly unless you pay someone else to do it.

The Ikea instructions were so easy, complete with detailed pictures and onomatopoeia. “click!”

We (mostly Handsome) put together:

I had fun setting up my purses in the closet, putting them on the wall, attached to scotch hooks. We have so many things to do still. Next we need a stud finder, to hang numerous pictures and wall shelves. On to other news…

Last night my Uncle G’s Daddy passed away. Please Pray for Mr. Frank and his mourning family. A great man, father, grandfather, and friend has left the Earth to watch over us all. Though he had suffered, and grown old, I will always remember him as the dear gentleman who would whirl his wife in dance and fix my aunt’s lighting when she needed help. Thanks for being wonderful, Mr. Frank. We will miss you, please have a Bud in heaven with Paw Paw and enjoy my wedding from the top view.  Tell Maw Maw I said, “Hey!” and give her a hug from us.

It’s hard to lose loved ones, but being a believer of Heaven, I am comforted by the joy of one day seeing them all again. In our best selves, with the wisdom of our ages and the joy and energy of our youth, the beauty of our prime.

“In my flesh, I shall see God. On the last day, I shall rise again!”

Pretty nostalgic,

Steph

Posted on August 26, 2011, in Character Building, Excessively Fond of a Cottage, Handsome Prince, Shiny things. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yay for Ikea and that cake! I bet Bernie was happy.

    Sorry to hear about your loss. It’s never easy, but I pray for peace for you and your family.

    • Bernie was reveling. BERNIE ALSO LIKED THE HAZELNUT COOKIES. NOT SO MUCH THE SALAD, TOO MUCH HEALTH THERE. MAYBE NEXT TIME GIRL WILL EAT MORE CAKE IF I AGREE TO VEGETABLES BUT ONLY IF COVERED WITH CHEESE, THIS WOULD BE FAIR.

      Thanks, dear. He isn’t suffering anymore, which is a relief to my heart. He was leaving by inches, bless him.

  2. First, I’m glad your IKEA-ing went well! Love the coffee table. The Guy and I are in the market for a new one, but I need to let the memory of our last IKEA trip fade a little before dragging him back.

    Second, and more importantly, I’m so sorry for your family’s loss. Peace be with you guys.

Leave a Reply

