So… It’s been a thousand years or something.

It feels like it has been a year or something since I last posted… wait. It HAS been!  Having a baby and starting a business and traveling with a baby… twice… really catches up with a person!  But even though I’ve been absent from here, I haven’t given up this blog which was my escape so long ago. I could vent all of my varied experiences and the world who wanted to know, would be able to read on.

During the sabbatical I have had so many emotional changes and experiences. I said goodbye to my best friend who is about to enter her second year with the Dominican sisters in Ann Arbor as a novice. I miss her so very much, but I know in my heart that she is in the place God wants her to be.  We, my sister Rachel, and Lady A and I visited her while she was temporarily in Indiana as a postulant. She was radiant with happiness. Her whole demeanor is completely new. She is a smiley- faced nun. I love it. Auntie Sister prays for us and has been home to visit in late May, early June. She still has that happy glow when she speaks of her sisters and the Motherhouse. She’s made a CD! The sisters made a CD during Lent and the beautiful chants are so very heart touching and soul soothing. There are samples of a few songs if few follow my link.

In other news, my darling Lady A is nearly eight months old and boy! Is she a handful or what? She had colic in the week six until the fourth month and from then launched into aggressive teething… She is still teething, but she has those middle bottom two and we think that she’s working on the top at present. I should rename the child Drool Machine, but I’m sure that would be frowned upon and may get me charged with child abuse in future if I did that. She made it into her eighth month by the hardest. I can be grateful about her health. Aside from a couple of booger nose colds, she hasn’t been seriously ill (knock on wood).

She is a seriously beautiful child and I truly hope that she has an awkward stage SOMETIME in development or she will end up being a mean girl, and I will NOT like that. There should be glasses, braces, and (if she has her daddy’s bad luck) a bit of acne. Her parents had plenty of awkwardness, never fear. What’s odd is that this child is in the 90% for height… at present anyway. Handsome and I are short. He was so short as a youth it was sad. Even his younger by two years brother loomed over him. Until junior year and I could suddenly see the hairs in his nose. Any who. Back to the Lady.

by Kelly Powell of Powell Photography

by Kelly Powell of Powell Photography

Alyssa 4

by Kelly Powell of Powell Photography

Alyssa 5

by Kelly Powell of Powell Photography

Alyssa 7

by Kelly Powell of Powell Photography

Alyssa 8

by Kelly Powell of Powell Photography

2013-01-21 08.30.10 2013-01-22 15.12.49 2013-01-23 15.13.18 2013-01-23 15.30.51 A doctor A smile

She is geniunely happy to meet people, as long as mommy is in sight or hearing distance. She loves my mother and her Honey got her to laugh for the first time, which delighted and astounded us. We almost cried. I understand why the myth of Fairies being born of a baby’s first laugh came to be. There’s something truly magical and heart- melting about the delicious sound. Particularly when it’s your child. I’ll never forget it. She is an absolute treasure. It is already an adventure.

 

Your Pretty Baby Kissing,

Steph

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Auntie Sister, Character Building, Handsome Prince, Lady A, Shiny things, The Damsel again.. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. She is beautiful like her mama! So glad to see you blogging again.

Leave a Reply

