Wish I was a frequent flyer

I’m an avid reader. I love to read blogs, books, magazines; pretty much anything written holds my interest. I have always wanted to become a writer. I haven’t written a whole bunch partly because my life is busy, but mostly because there are just so many words. Too many stories that it intimidates me.

Lady A and Handsome as doing well, and my floral adventures have only just begun. I love my job. I love everything about the work I do. I love the blossoms, the work, even that odd ache in my lower back when I’ve been carrying too many darn buckets of water. I love. IT!  The business has been steadily climbing, of which I am extremely grateful.Florist 4 Florist2 Jackie's bouquet

These images are from my first wedding as an independent floral designer. The bride and her mother were so very wonderful to work with! I loved this experience. Sure, there were some interesting moments, I almost went into the Villagio Lake and a pair of scissors actually did make it into the lake.  Memo to me, use tulle on arbors in March/April in Louisiana. It’s far too drafty for the thick fabric we had. Whew! That arbor turned into a kite! Thankfully we retrieved extra sandbags to hold it, and I made sure the drapes actually had very little drape.  The mother of the bride was a very kind and lovely hard worker, who made her daughter’s big day everything it should be.

My next weddings were great and I definitely have more to learn, but I am ever so grateful to have had the mentor in Dianne Feducia. She’s a Master at Floral Design and I bow to her talents.  As I continue to find my rhythm, Lady A continues to grow in beauty and in personality.

My gorgeous daughter is now nearly twenty months old and I can hardly believe it.  Many of my friends and family have been having little ones and it has been so hard to restrain my baby fever. However, Lady A is not yet out of diapers, so we won’t be producing any siblings quite yet.  One day we will have another, and Lady A will make an interesting Big Sister.

Ooops! She’s up from her nap!

Bloomingly surrounded by blooms,

Steph

Posted on July 16, 2014, in Character Building. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your work is AMAZING. So proud of how you’ve built up your business so far. Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

